To commemorate the contribution of the late Dr Koos van der Merwe to the feed industry in South Africa, AFMA annually awards a prize to the best final year graduate student in Animal Nutrition in a specific year to further his/her studies in the following year. Since very few of the recipients ended up in the feed or feed related industries, it has been decided to change the criteria for the prize. The prize will only be awarded to a student who has already registered for postgraduate studies in Animal Nutrition at a South African University.
Animal Feed Manufacturers Association (AFMA)
1990Diederick Johannes van der LindeUniversity of Stellenbosch
1991Theunis Gerhardus Nicolaas VisserUniversity of Pretoria
1992Andries Jacobus UysUniversity of Stellenbosch
1993Ntabisheng SegoaleUniversity of Fort Hare
1994Heinrich Martin BohmeUniversity of Stellenbosch
1995Liesl BurgerUniversity of Stellenbosch
1996Leigh McloughlinUniversity of Natal
1997Gerna HaroldtUniversity of Stellenbosch
1998Gert Daniel Jacobus ScholtzUniversity of the Free State
1999John D ThorntonUniversity of Stellenbosch
2000Marc de BeerUniversity of Stellenbosch
2001Dean BackhouseUniversity of Natal
2002Steven George PayneUniversity of Stellenbosch
2003Evelyn Rhoda MallesonUniversity of Pretoria
2004Not awarded-
2005Natalie Mara le RouxUniversity of Pretoria
2006Marcia MalanUniversity of Stellenbosch
2007-2008Dieter Cecil Fleischman University of Pretoria
2009-2010Magdel Nel University of Stellenbosch
2010-2011Rainer Rauch University of Pretoria
2011-2012An Maria Jozefa JacquesUniversity of Pretoria
2012-2013Elna Swart University of Pretoria
2013-2014Roné de KlerkUniversity of Pretoria
2014-2015Simone BiggsUniversity of Stellenbosch
2015-2016Keara O’ReillyUniversity of Pretoria
2016-2017Not awarded-
2017-2018Micaela Sinclair-BlackUniversity of Pretoria
2018-2019Anna-Marie VerhoefUniversity of Pretoria
2019-2020Not awarded-