The Animal Feed Manufacturers Association (AFMA) decided to institute the above-mentioned award to pay homage to the late Dr Barney van Niekerk and his contributions to the feed industry.

The Barney van Niekerk/AFMA Technical Person of the Year Award is presented at the AFMA AGM to a person who is involved in the South African Feed Industry and who complies with the requirements as set out below.

The following will be taken into consideration for the award:

  • Contributions in the technical field to the benefit of the feed industry
  • Technical contributions in the working environment, i.e. relating to products or other developments
  • Technical presentations at any level
  • Articles published in AFMA Matrix or other publications (popular scientific)
  • Non-technical activities and conduct
  • Contributions towards AFMA and animal nutrition in general
Animal Feed Manufacturers Association (AFMA)
1998Dr Martin Neitz
1999Dr Erhard Briedenhann
2001Dr Lourens Erasmus
2001Dr Hinner Köster
2002Rick Kleyn
2003Not awarded
2004Dr Tertius Brand
2005Loutjie Dunn
2006Not awarded
2007Not awarded
2008Dr Pieter Henning
2009Prof Christiaan Cruywagen
2010Stephen Slippers
2011Not awarded
2012Hannes van der Westhuyzen
2013Not awarded
2014Dr Hannes Viljoen
2015Kenneth Botha
2016Dr Christél Coetzee
2017Not awarded
2018David Brandt
2019Dr Peter Plumstead
2020Chantelle Fryer